Changing opinion of breastfeeding

I’ve been breastfeeding on and off for 6 years, with three children. Over this time I have noticed that there is a distinct change of people’s opinion to women breastfeeding in public. With my first, I found lots of people would stare at me.

This maybe because it was my first and I was a little nervous and found the experience a little daunting. However, as time went on, I developed stronger attitude to breastfeeding and would happily do it in public. I’ve never been asked not to breastfeed, but getting starred at by people, does make you feel very uncomfortable and that you are doing something you shouldn’t be doing. Which is draft because if me and my hubby are going out to lunch, my son does have a right to eat his lunch too.

 

With my third child, I found there was much more acceptance, even in a sleepy Cornish village were I live. On several occasions, when I’ve been out for a coffee with a friend, staff at the cafe have gave us a larger table  and pointed out to us where the baby changing facilities are. They are really small things, but when you are trying to get a cuppa and you have three children, two of which want to walk in the opposite direction, this really does help.

 

I’m not sure if this confidence has come with age or experience, or I’m just exerting my rights as a mother, either way, I’ve happily breastfeed my children in public and never had to face any negative comments.

My tips for breastfeeding in public

  1. Wear suitable clothing, something that you can slip in and out of discreetly. Including a suitable bra.
  2. Take a cover or scarf to provide more privacy if you feel self conscious.
  3. Lean back slightly, so gravity works for you and your baby will pop back on and hide any exposure.
  4. Check your sling, some slings can be used to breastfeed whilst walking.
  5. Grab some breastfeeding friends and go out together. If you are in a group of 4 other women, all breastfeeding, it will feel confident.
  6. Have a practice at home in front of a mirror.
  7. Turn away when latching, this is the moment of the most skin being exposed, after that your babies head will be covering you up.
  8. Don’t go to the toilet to breastfeed. It really distressed me when my friend said she did this, you wouldn’t eat in the toilet.
  9. Remember you are not allowed, by Law in the UK to ask to leave if you are breastfeeding in public. Nor are you allowed to “cover up” or be asked to move.

5 thoughts on “Changing opinion of breastfeeding

  1. Pingback: The Breastfeeding Mom on the Go: Options for Breastfeeding in Public | Breastfeeding in Public Blog

  2. Pingback: How to Breastfeed in Public | Breastfeeding in Public Blog

  3. Pingback: Breastfeeding in Public Laws: Are You Protected? | Breastfeeding in Public Blog

Leave a comment